Postcard #27 “What Makes Me Happy”

Posted on October 30, 2011. Filed under: Postcards | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Hello again! My brain is full of second graders, Halloween candy and banjo rolls so I am turning to the Chat Pack to help!

This week’s question is: If you made a list of the five things (not people!) that make you the happiest in your life, what five things would you write down?

Well…

1. Ice cubes. I finally have a fridge that gets cold enough to make ice cubes and I make sure to keep the tray filled with water so I can always have cubes when I need them. I think ice cubes make me happy because they are a little party in a glass waiting to happen.

2. Chubby kitty fleece. A couple of years ago I was wearing an especially fuzzy fleece jacket while visiting a friend. His youngest son was about 5 years old at the time and really into cats. He sat by me and proceeded to pet my arm while saying, “oh, chubby kitty.” So since then anything that is soft, cozy, cuddly or warm is referred to as a “chubby kitty”. They make me happy because they are soft and warm, sort of like wearing a sleeping bag, which brings me to the next thing that makes me happy…

3. Camping. There are pictures of me as a baby hanging in a tree wearing pink footie pajamas and a smile. One of my favorite places to be is in a tent snuggled down in a sleeping bag. Camping makes me happy: being outside, the feeling of being miles away from everyone else and of course, the smell of pine trees. I could go camping every weekend in the summer and it still wouldn’t be enough.

4. Waking up in the morning and finding out that my cat Clementine asleep at the end of the bed. There are many comfortable places in the house to sleep (especially those chubby kitty jackets I leave around) and I am always happy when Clem chooses to sleep with me. Clementine is one cool kitty and she makes me happy.

5. Dogs. I didn’t think I was a dog person, but I was. After becoming a dog owner, I’ve learned there’s something really special about them. Maybe it’s the way they are genuinely excited when I come home or perhaps it’s the way they make me be a better and happier person. Sure they need to be walked and you can’t leave them alone for a long time, but they’re worth it.  If you own a dog you know what I’m talking about.

 There you go, there’s my 5. What’s yours?

 
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

