Postcard #20 “A-12”

Posted on June 12, 2011. Filed under: Postcards | Tags: , , , |

For the past eleven years I have joked with my students that the only person who would be staying in the 4th grade was me. But this year everyone is leaving: my students are moving to the 5th grade and I’m going to the 2nd grade. The reason why I am changing isn’t because I don’t like 4th graders; nine and ten year olds have such a great sense of humor and they usually really like their teacher.  I am leaving because I have an opportunity to work with two women that I admire and who will be fantastic mentors and I would foolish to pass that up. So I’m taking the plunge and making a change.

 If you’re a veteran teacher or someone who doesn’t get attached to material things, leaving a room you have been in for such a long time doesn’t sound like such a big deal. But it is, at least to me. A12 has been my home away from home and there are so many memories and lessons learned there that it makes it that much harder to leave.

 A12 is the only classroom I have taught in and the first students I had when I began teaching in 1999 have long since graduated high school and for some, college. It was where my first principal took over a math lesson when I couldn’t figure it out on my own and many years later, it was where I was filmed teaching a lesson this year because my metacognition is considered outstanding.  I have also learned that principals come and go, students are different every year and be sure to go to the bathroom before the bell rings. But the reason why I teach stays the same: I love teaching children and seeing them grow and learn outweighs all the weekends spent at school.

 So as school draws to a close and I pack up my classroom and put away the curriculum books I won’t need in the upcoming year, I will leave my first classroom, but I will take with me the skills and lessons I have learned as a teacher. My 4th graders are ready to move on and so am I.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

