Postcard #19 “I looked like a…”

Posted on June 5, 2011. Filed under: Postcards | Tags: , , |

Postcard #19

You know you’ve had a great time when you leave the party wearing someone else’s underwear. They were warm, gray, and long: qualities you need, especially when it’s snowing in May.

 This year, my packing mojo was off. I didn’t want to pack too much and in the end, I ended up packing not enough.  I thought my handy-dandy list would help to keep me organized and by writing down what I was bringing, I avoided packing sixteen shirts, fourteen pairs of shorts and my Mr. Bubble shower cap. On a positive note, the 24 pairs of socks I packed came in handy, when I bartered for coffee and pitas later in the festival (okay, not really, it’s not Burning Man for heaven sakes, but I was rich in socks and I do like that feeling). Left at home were two of the most important things I should have packed these two key items: my wide-brimmed straw hat to keep my face from cooking like a Christmas turkey and my teal blue Patagonia* capilene tights.

 By the time I realized that I was under prepared  and under packed, it was too late. I don’t like to think of myself as a wimp, so I sucked it up and vowed to power through the cold and rain. Nothing was going to stop me, so I layered up and got on with the festival festivities. At one point I wore my fluffy red robe which helped to keep me toasty, but unfortunately it soaked up the rain like a giant sponge. I did get lots of compliments about looking like a giant strawberry, so I had that going for me. When the robe weighed as much as a giant strawberry I had to take it off, so once again I was cold and wet. That’s when Mary stepped in and saved the day.

When you camp with super cool people, they have a way of giving what you need, even if you’re too shy or stubborn to ask for it. They arrive prepared and ready to share without a moment’s notice or hesitation.   Mary is that kind of person. She was so generous and offered up her extra pair of long underwear. From the moment I put them on, I knew that I was going to be okay- I was one happy gal. Her kindness and generosity warmed my heart and especially my thighs. I drove home wearing those long underwear and it helped me remember that the world is a good place full of great people.

 Extra Stuff:

  •  I was sad to realize that the socks that I thought were wool were sadly only cotton and the crazy pattern did nothing to keep my feet warm and that was a drag.
  • Mary wasn’t the only great person I camped with, there was Nancy with her love of Tim O’Brien, Tracy with her excellent collection of hats (I think the Boy Scout Leader hat was my favorite), Tyler who kept us amused with juggling skills, and John who pressed on even though his back hurt. Thanks for a great festival, Camp Babble On!
  •    *Patagonia makes a mean pair of capilene underwear, even though (most of) the people who work at Patagonia think they’re better than you …you know what I’m saying.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Postcard #19 “I looked like a…””

RSS Feed for 52postcards Comments RSS Feed

Fun post, sorry you were cold. Yes, I know what you are saying about those Paagonia folks. 🙂 Although the Reno store is a great potty stop when you have three kids.

xox, 3 toddler referee


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

