Postcard #17 Packing for Strawberry Music Festival

Posted on May 21, 2011. Filed under: Postcards | Tags: , , , |

You can never have too many pairs or socks (especially colorful ones)

It begins when I put a pair of socks aside and it doesn’t end until my car is stuffed full of camping gear. It’s almost Memorial Day weekend and you know what that means, right? It’s time for Spring Strawberry Music Festival (my twelve year- their 30th).

  I’m never sure when to start packing- a month before I leave? A week? Two weeks? I always have a hard time making up my mind.  If I had my way I would have my own little permanent packing pile all year long, so I could add to nifty camping gadgets to the stack as I go. I’d also have a list to help me remember what’s in the ever expanding heap and it might be something like this: The clever light that clips to the brim of a hat so I can see where I’m going at three in the morning? Check! Portable clothesline to hang wet towels and socks on? Check! A picture of Walter so I won’t miss him too much? Check and check!

 My packing instinct eventually kicks in and I know it’s the time is right for digging through drawers, opening Rubbermaid boxes, and climbing into the back of the closet for my gear. From there, things begin to escalate as I pull out hats, gloves, socks with little strawberries on them that I bought at Target five months ago, the knitted hat with my last name on it which my friend’s grandmother made for me, and still more socks- the list goes on and on and with more socks thrown in just to be safe; I like to have dry feet, can you blame me? My husband mentioned that it might be a good idea to pare down this year and I just don’t know how comfortable I am with that. I promised him that I would think about it. He also said that I should mention my tote bag fixation, but I’m not going to do that either.

 Obsessed or just really prepared? You decide. But before you do, let me explain both sides of the argument: I like to be prepared because I’m a person who doesn’t want to be stuck in the rain (again) wearing a trash bag (again) while watching John Hiatt perform because I forgot my raingear (again). In that case, I am a prepared packer who likes to be, you guessed it, prepared.

 On the other hand, do I really need eight pairs of socks for a four day festival? Yes. Three pairs of shoes, one for each possible weather scenario? Yup. An alarm clock and my squirrel watch? You betcha. In that case, I am an obsessed person who packs way too much (but I have lots of fun stuff with me).

Strawberry socks will be carefully packed

 On the other other hand, maybe I am a combination of both types and that’s fine by me (it works for me, what can I say?).

 Now where did I put my ticket?

 

My friend's grandma made this for me and I love wearing it!

 
 
 
 
 
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Postcard #17 Packing for Strawberry Music Festival”

RSS Feed for 52postcards Comments RSS Feed

I love the Reynolds hat! And you can never have too many socks. 🙂 Have a rocking’ time.

Love, 3toddler referee


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • May 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

