Snowmen In My Neighborhood- Postcard #5

Posted on February 23, 2011. Filed under: Postcards, snowmen, Uncategorized |

Hello All!

 Here’s the inspiration behind postcard #5- enjoy!

Why are snowmen so charming? Could it be the carrot nose, eyes made out of coal or the jaunty scarf? I’m not sure what the answer is; but while some are tall, some short, some lopsided, they always make me smile.

 I collect snowmen all year long, snatching them up on sale in July and stalking the stores in December, but only in the winter am I able to see one face to face. I have to be honest that even though I love snowmen,  I usually don’t make them. I prefer to appreciate the hard work and skill of others in their snowman making expertise.

 Last week a snowstorm blanketed my town; schools were closed, news reporters talked about how icy the roads were and the world was suddenly very quiet. After shoveling the sidewalk, I decided to suit up my dogs and take them out. I had another motive- to find as many snowmen as I could. Luckily the people in my neighborhood are creatively industrious and I found what I was looking for: frosty kitties, rustic snowmen, and snow blobs. Some were tall, others small, but all were made with care and a definite sense of humor. I was inspired to take photographs of these chilly creations.

These momentary residents reminded me of one of my favorite books Snowmen at Night by Caralyn and Mark Buehner  http://buehnerbooks.com/. If you’re not familiar with the plot, a bunch of snowmen come alive at night and frolic around the town and enjoy ice cold cocoa. It sounds like a fun idea to have a nighttime snow adventure, except I think that I would need at least three pairs of socks to keep my feet warm.  

If you’re lucky enough to have snowmen, snow kitties or even snow blobs in your neighborhood, get out and take a walk and enjoy what you see. If you’re feeling really industrious, make a snowman of your own (make sure to add a dashing scarf) and maybe you’ll make someone smile. Or maybe someone will take a picture of your snowman- you never know what will happen!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Snowmen In My Neighborhood- Postcard #5”

RSS Feed for 52postcards Comments RSS Feed

Nice post! No snowmen here, but lots of rain!

Love reading the posts!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

