I Love You More Than Frosted Sugar Cookies postcard #3

Posted on February 9, 2011. Filed under: Postcards, Uncategorized |

I love a lot of things: miniature goats, Boston Terriers, new shoes, my cat Clementine’s gray tail. But my love of those things don’t even come close to my love of sugar cookies, wait… frosted sugar cookies. I don’t know where my love of these frosted yummies came from, but I do know that it’s not going away anytime soon. I search my hometown for the best sugar cookies- German bakeries, elementary school Scarecrow Festivals, and when I’m really desperate (or longing for anything sweet), my local Raley’s Supermarket.  

I think I love frosted cookies because they are special because they took time to make- they are not the fly by night cookie where you mix up a batch, slap them on a baking sheet and there you go- you got yourself a batch of cookies. No sir, these are thoughtful, deliberate cookies: think about it- you have to make the dough (and eat half of it in the process- salmonella be damned!), chill it, roll it out, bake it, let them cool, and whip up a batch of powdered sugar frosting (eating half of that too), and then frost those little babies. The process takes the whole afternoon and if you drink too much of the vanilla flavoring, the procedure of making the cookies could take days. I believe frosted sugar cookies are the ultimate in thoughtful cooking- the slow food movement http://slowfoodnation.org/ should have these as their official spokes cookie. I think the ultimate compliment is to be told that I love you more than frosted sugar cookies- now that’s true love!

I don’t want you to think, Dear Reader of the 52postcards Project, that I am discriminating against the other cookies out there- chocolate chip, snicker doodles, peanut butter cookies, Girl Scout cookies, whatever! I love them all!

It seems to me that the frosted sugar cookie is the example of how we should live our lives- thoughtfully, with care, and with a whole lot of sweetness (and an occasional swig of vanilla extract always helps).

Need a sweet treat? Check out these websites:

http://dishcafecatering.com/

http://batchcupcakery.com/#home

http://sweetiepies.com/

Where’s your favorite sweet place? Send me the link and I’ll post it!

 You look like you would like a postcard with your frosted sugar cookie- email your snail mail address to 52postcards@gmail.com for a chance to have an original postcard sent to you (you’re going to have to get your own cookies!).

Lillian and postcard #3

Lillian and postcard#3

Frosted Sugar Cookies

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “I Love You More Than Frosted Sugar Cookies postcard #3”

RSS Feed for 52postcards Comments RSS Feed

Very sweet postcard, thanks! My favorite sweet place is Sweetie Pies in Napa, CA. It’s got some yummy stuff, especially iced sugar cookies for each holiday. Nice thoughts you wrote there!

Love,
3 Toddler Referee, guess who?

You deserve a raise or a dozen frosted sugar cookies!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • February 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

