“Heart-Shaped Potato Chips” Postcard#1

Posted on January 24, 2011. Filed under: Postcards | Tags: , , , , , , |

I love potato chips. They are salty, crunchy, and such a guilty pleasure. I also love heart shaped things- leaves, cows with heart shaped patches of hair, and of course, necklaces from Tiffany’s. So when I opened a bag of Dirty Chips and found a perfectly fried and salted potato-shaped heart, there was no question what my first postcard for the 52postcards project would be. But there’s more to my choice than just the perfect combination of two of my favorite things.

The real reason why I chose the photo of a potato chip is because it reminds me of my Dad. If you are not familiar with my story, you don’t know that I have two Dads: Chuck, the Dad that gave me my curly hair and Harlan, the Dad that bought me my first Volkswagen Beetle (much to his chagrin) and then a set of metric tools to work on the Bug. I consider myself very lucky to have two Dads- each very different, but the same in so many ways.

Harlan loved potato chips, especially Lays Potato chips in the sunshine yellow bag. Each week, my Mom would buy a bag of chips (no wimpy Baked Lays for him) and put them in a kitchen cabinet. I don’t think she ever told him that a fresh bag had been bought and placed there for him (they had an understanding).

Later, he would get a pink bowl, fill it with chips, watch NASCAR and eat his chips with onion dip. There was always a dog sitting alertly at his feet waiting to be fed, I think at times, the dog ate more chips than my Dad.

When I would visit my parents, one of the first things I would do was to sneak a handful of chips, trying to be quiet as I ruffled the bag. My Dad would always say, “Who’s there?” and I would turn the corner and we would talk. This ritual my Dad and I shared came to mean more to me than just a bag of chips- it meant that no matter how crazy my life became, how hard school was or much I hated my job- my Dad was always in the next room waiting to talk. That meant the world to me. It was priceless.

My Dad died in April of 2009 and for awhile, my Mom kept a bag of chips in the house, but things have never been the same. Now when I really miss my Dad, one thing that helps me feel closer to him is to buy a bag of Lays Potato Chips. At least for a little while, I pretend that I’m back in my parents’ house with my VW parked in the driveway, stealing some chips, and I’m going to turn the corner and my Dad will be there, ready to ask me about my day.

So the next time you feel like you’d like to have a bag of chips to go with your sandwich or NASCAR race, grab a yellow bag of Lays Potato Chips and enjoy. My Dad knew a good thing when he found one.

Delicious Heart-Shaped chip

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to ““Heart-Shaped Potato Chips” Postcard#1”

RSS Feed for 52postcards Comments RSS Feed

I loved Postcard@1 “Heart-shaped Potato Chips”. As I read it, I felt “like I was there” wanting the same thing you did…”Dad always in the next room waiting to talk”. Yes, it made me cry. But I’ll just blow my nose and remember to pick up a bag of Lays chips on my next trip to the store. Sweet memories. Thank you.
Love,
Mom

Cindy,

What a great post! I never knew that about you…but of course I did about the chips! Very touching and heartfelt. I look forward to reading more postcards!

xox, Teri

Good morning! What a wonderful way to start my day Miss Cindy! What a wonderful memory of Harlan! I will never look at a bag of Lays Potato Chips the same way! Looking forward to your next postcard! Thanks for sharing Sis!
PEACE
Auntie Carla

Hey there Cindy girl, I agree with Teri, that is a great article. Did
you know, Harlan made me a footstool after my 1st back surgery because
my bed was too high, and as you know, I am short. It worked for many
years and then it broke. Damn, I will ask Boz if he can fix it. Cause
you know the bed is still too high, and I am still short.
Love Auntie Joy

I KNEW I loved Lays for a reason. I am in good company it seems. When you need something salty and crisp they are the only way to go. Thank you for allowing me to see some of the love you had for your Dad. I loved mine dearly too and miss him always. God Bless your new adventure. I look forward to more art………………..xoxoo Ruby


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

