What’s 52postcards Project about?

Posted on January 17, 2011. Filed under: Postcards, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , |

In early January 2011, I was at Green Apple Books (greenapplebooks.com) in San Francisco checking out the books, thinking about buying another rubber monster finger puppet, and looking for a card I could send to my Auntie Laura to let her know I was thinking about her. I found a cool one with something about being a “being able to save the world wearing a pink tutu and a really great tiara” and even though I really liked the card, I wanted to send her something new every week.

What about postcards? What about postcards with original art created by me her favorite and most beloved niece? Now I would finally have an excuse to take even more photographs of my dogs. The postcard would be mailed every Thursday with a little note on the back and the link to this website so she could read about the art on the front. I am a writer, but not one who writes about herself and this project would force (or encourage) me to do just that. I decided to include one other person for 52postcards- my friend Christina who recently moved to Las Vegas, so this blog should really be called 104postcards. Then, I decided to add just one more person to the project: my friend named Ruby, who is probably one of the greatest people I know. You’re probably thinking that I should change the name to 156postcards, but I think 52postcards sounds snazzier, so I’m keeping the name the same.

Interested? Check back soon for the art for each postcard and the story behind why I chose it for the project. 

Really interested? Want to sign up for a chance to have a completely original postcard sent to you? it’s easy- email your name and snail mail address to: 52postcards@gmail.com

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “What’s 52postcards Project about?”

RSS Feed for 52postcards Comments RSS Feed

If you go the route of creating your own art, you might visit 365mailart. It contains the pictures of like-minded people sending out “mailart” to 365 people.

Great- I will check it out!

Hey, I thought I was her favorite niece!!!
Just kidding… Great Idea Cindy! I’ll subscribe and I’m looking forward to seeing your art… Does Word Press offer a copy write feature? Something to consider! We are doing something similar on my Blog …Saturday Scenes with Boz… one scene a week… Aunt Laura loves this idea too! You are a sweetie and I love you!
Cousin Deb


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Post A Week Challenge

    I'm part of the Post A Week Challenge!

    Post A Week Challenge!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 16 other followers

  • Categories

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • January 2011
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

